Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu
Hi,
I'm trying to understand the "precedence" impact of the IF in relation to an intentionally dropped fair fly ball.
Rule 8, Section 2 Batter-Runner is out.
J. When an infielder intentionally drops a fair fly ball, including a line drive or
a bunt, which can be caught with ordinary effort with first, first and second,
first and third or first, second and third bases occupied with fewer than two
outs.
EFFECT: Dead ball, runners must return to the last base touched at the time
of the pitch. If an infield fly is ruled, it has precedence over an intentionally
dropped ball.
Does this mean that if an IF has [or should have] been called, that a dead ball should NOT be called in the event an infielder intentionally drops a fair popup?
|
That's exactly the case. If you have an infield fly that is intentionally dropped, the dead ball should not be called. In both the IFF and IDB, the batter-runner is out. The difference is that the IFF keeps the ball live, allowing runners to advance at their own risk. The runners (and, presumably, their base coaches) should know the game situation, and should know when an IFF is in effect.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu
What is the difference, if any, in rule application resulting from a popup on the infield:
less than 2 outs, runners on first and third [no IF called]
less than 2 outs, runners on first and second [IF should be called]
I know an IF can't be called in appropriate situation on a line drive or a bunt that is popped up.
Thanx.
|
I'm not sure what you're asking us here. Are you asking us if there's a difference in the Intentionally Dropped Ball rule in those situations? If that's the case, then no.
In every case of an intentionally dropped ball, the ball is immediately dead, and the batter-runner is called out (8-2-J). All runners must return to their bases (8-2-J and 8-6-H).