Thread: Stiff Arm Legal
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2000, 06:45am
Middleman Middleman is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally posted by Ed Hickland
Federation rules. 1st and 10 on A's 25. A32 runs to A's 30 where B24 attempted to tackle him. A32 stiff arms B24 with his hand contacting the face mask of B24.

Is this a face mask penalty against A32?

Can the runner on a stiff arm facemask his opponent?

If it is a face mask, would it be 5 or 15 yards?
I'm sure there will be lots of screaming for a penalty from the sideline, but simply stiff-arming his opponent would not be a foul by A32, even if he contacts the facemask.

The foul occurs only if he GRASPS the facemask. At that point, the covering official would make a judgement as to the severity of the grasping and determine whether to assess a 5- or a 15-yard penalty.

So, to answer your questions:

Not necessarily;

Yes;

Could be either.

Middleman
Reply With Quote