View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 06, 2011, 06:47am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFussRef View Post
B1 unable to get in front of A1 to foul, so B1 places both hands on A1's back. B1 has not made a play on the ball and is fouling to stop the clock.

Intentional?

-or-

Hand Check?
Judgment call. And as you have already judged above as highlighted that the defender didn't make a legitimate attempt to play the ball and only fouled to stop the clock, your only option by rule(NFHS R4-19-3) is to call an intentional personal foul.

Of course, others(JRut) might disagree with your judgment that the defender wasn't playing the ball.
Reply With Quote