View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 08, 2003, 05:06pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Mregor
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
In the first situation above,you can't call a technical foul of any type,by rule,if the ball is alive.You have to call a personal foul of some type-probably an intentional personal foul in this case.Rules references are NFHS R4-19-1 and R4-19-5,and NCAA R4-26-1 and R4-26-3,5,7.
[/B]
J.R.,
Are you referring specifically to the situation or referring to T's overall? There are specific situations where we do call a T during a live ball (i.e. taunting), just not for contact during a live ball. Just wanted to clear that up. Of course you are correct that the situation presented would be either a violation if there was not any contact or a personal foul if they did make contact. Severity would dictate whether it is intentional or flagrant. Our state association has described the violation as "swing and return in the same plane". I think that is a reasonable interpretation of excessively swinging the elbows without contact.

Mregor [/B][/QUOTE]Roger,I was referring to Jeremy's specific post,which was giving a T for elbow contact during a live ball,by a player with the ball.I know(as you stated above)that you sure can have technical fouls during a live ball-but they are non-contact by rule also.I thought Texas played NCAA rules,but that might be football only.There's a big difference in the penalties,with the POI used in NCAA.
Reply With Quote