View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 08, 2003, 04:41pm
Mregor Mregor is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 769
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee

[/B]
In the first situation above,you can't call a technical foul of any type,by rule,if the ball is alive.You have to call a personal foul of some type-probably an intentional personal foul in this case.Rules references are NFHS R4-19-1 and R4-19-5,and NCAA R4-26-1 and R4-26-3,5,7.
[/B][/QUOTE]
J.R.,
Are you referring specifically to the situation or referring to T's overall? There are specific situations where we do call a T during a live ball (i.e. taunting), just not for contact during a live ball. Just wanted to clear that up. Of course you are correct that the situation presented would be either a violation if there was not any contact or a personal foul if they did make contact. Severity would dictate whether it is intentional or flagrant. Our state association has described the violation as "swing and return in the same plane". I think that is a reasonable interpretation of excessively swinging the elbows without contact.

Mregor
Reply With Quote