Quote:
Originally Posted by upprdeck
its clearly a violation under NCAA rules.
|
No, it's not. It's clearly NOT a violation.
Quote:
what is the rule in HS and if its different why do we have 2 sets of rules on a play like this?
|
Same rule in HS and NCAA. If the player is inbounds, then s/he can touch the ball. It's ruled differently because (a) it might be different in the NBA; (b) it might be different in football and people attempt to apply that; (c) inexperienced refs might just apply some "myth" and not bother to read the rules; (d) apparently the rule can be confusing to read (based on your comment above -- and I don't mean that as a slam against you).
Quote:
and while i am waiting for the rule book just how do you interpret the 3ft rule on out of bounds playing movement? is it 3 ft circle when handed the ball is it 3 ft either direction?
|
3 feet wide (parallel to the boundary line) and unlimited depth (back to the wall / bleachers).