View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 18, 2011, 10:25pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeesfan View Post
is it a violation if a shot hits the rim and goes over the backboard but does not touch any support?
Under NFHS and NCAA rules, it is always a violation for the ball to pass over the backboard period. Thrown, deflected, off the rim, it doesn't matter. Passing over the backboard=violation. Of course, this is assuming the ball passes over a rectangular backboard. If it is a fan shaped backboard, then this does not apply.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote