Originally posted by David Emerling
Normally, R1 could *not* safely get back to 1st since he had already touched 2nd and had not retraced past 2nd before F9's release. But! (Here comes the new interpetation) Since, at the time of F9's release, F1 was *attempting* to get back, he should be allowed to return to 1st. He could then be awarded 3rd without risk of being subject to appeal. Had he *not* been heading back to correct his baserunning error at the time of F9's release, then his fate would be sealed and retouching 1st would do him no good. He would then be subject to an appeal whether he does or does not retouch 1st.
David, the applicable citing is at the end of section 5. It's the Exception. FED rule 5-2-2 EXCEPTION:
A runner who is on or beyond a succeeding base when the ball became dead, or advances and touches a succeeding base after the ball became dead, may not return and shall be called out on proper appeal.
The TOT applies to base awards. The key question is" Where is the runner when the ball BECAME dead? not where he /she was when the outfielder threw it.
IMO, this is not a "new" citing but has always been there. The BIG difference is that before last year's appeal rule change, Blue would declare the runner out. Now, even though a runner can be declared out when he /she returns to touch a missed base when they were on or beyond a succedding base when the ball became dead, the defense has to appeal before we register the out. It's not an automatic anymore.
Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
|