View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 01:20am
Bfair Bfair is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
Dave, first off, the time of the release of the throw that eventually goes to DBT will impact only an award. That is, the legality of R1's return is not dependent upon the time of the release, but rather it's dependent on his loctation at the time the ball touches DBT. There's a difference.

Although the Fed cleaned up some wording in their rule and caseplay, the application has not changed from last year. If R1 is "on or beyond" his advance base at the time that the ball becomes dead, then he cannot legally return, and would be declared out upon appeal. Should R1 be on or beyond his advance base at the time the ball becomes dead, you would not stop him from attempting his return. His return to retouch 1B, should he make it, is truly illegitimate. But should he return and retouch before accepting his award due to the ball going to DBT, then the defense may still appeal his illegitimate return to gain the out. However, if the defense does not know the rule, sees the return and thinks the runner has legitimately retouched, and fails to make an appeal, then R1 will be allowed to keep his awarded bases.

There was no caseplay or interpretation as you cite for last year.
There is a question, however, that arises based upon the runner's "attempting return" at the time the ball goes to DBT, and that deals with whether the 2 base award to R1 would be from base occupied at TOP or location of runner at TOT. The actual writing of the rule states that the basis of where the base is awarded from is based upon the action of R1 at the time the ball becomes dead. If he attempting return after a catch, then the award is 2 bases from TOP. If he is not attempting return after the catch, then the award is 2 bases from TOT.

Please note that Childress and I have had significant debate regarding the basis of the award under Fed interpretation. I can direct you to that old thread if you desire.

What you truly need to be aware of is:
  1. Where is the runner at the time a throw goes to DBT
  2. Was he attempting to return after a catch at the time the ball touched DBT
  3. If not attempting return, where was the runner at TOT


Just my opinion,

Freix




[Edited by Bfair on Feb 6th, 2003 at 12:22 AM]
Reply With Quote