View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 17, 2011, 08:21am
Eastshire Eastshire is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
That's where the extenuating circumstances come in. If you check and find that both teams came out to warm-up at approximately the same time, were given the customary warm-up period for a regional playoff, the clock was set at an agreed time for the warm-up and there was sufficient time for both the visiting and home scorers to enter the correct info, then there is no reason by rule NOT to assess a "T". The officials actually being on the floor is moot under those circumstances rules-wise.

If they rushed the warm-up period, then of course you can use the extenuating circumstances as a valid reason to not asses a "T".

No matter what, you still have to be able to give valid, logical and rules-based reasons to defend your action.
No, this is not a case of extenuating circumstances. The rule has nothing to due with the time on the clock. The visitors have until 10 minutes before the scheduled start time. In this case the error was discovered 20 minutes before the scheduled start time. By rule, there is no reason to penalize the visiting team.

Just because the time on the clock normally is counting down to the scheduled start time does not mean that it always is.
Reply With Quote