Re: Re: That's what I thought, too.
Quote:
Originally posted by Andy
There was a very lengthy disucussion on this very topic on another discussion board last year. The scenario was that the ball landed past third base inside the foul line by three feet, obviously fair, and the umpire called foul ball.
My opinion is that once a foul ball is called, the ball is dead and we move on to the next pitch. Others felt that the umpire could use the "umpires may rule on any situation not specifically covered in the book" (the rule reference number escapes me) rule to place the runners where they would likely have ended up and play on.
Let's just say no consensus was reached!
|
Yeah, I love that one. How can (ASA Rule 10) apply when FOUL and FAIR along with the effects are clearly covered in the rule book?
Some people just like to make them up as they go along.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
|