Quote:
Originally posted by Striker991
Herein lies my confusion with the first post. I haven't been at this very long, but it has always been my opinion that "foul" was the one call that couldn't be reversed, because once called, the ball is dead and play is stopped. As someone else asked, where would you place the runners?
|
There was a very lengthy disucussion on this very topic on another discussion board last year. The scenario was that the ball landed past third base inside the foul line by three feet, obviously fair, and the umpire called foul ball.
My opinion is that once a foul ball is called, the ball is dead and we move on to the next pitch. Others felt that the umpire could use the "umpires may rule on any situation not specifically covered in the book" (the rule reference number escapes me) rule to place the runners where they would likely have ended up and play on.
Let's just say no consensus was reached!