Thread: 3 in, 4 out
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 05, 2003, 09:55am
ScottParks ScottParks is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
Soph girls tonight. V-team is losing by 40+ in the 4Q when coach sends in 3 subs during a free throw sich. 3 subs come in, 4 girls go to the bench, leaving 4 on the court. Partner and I both see it, but decide to let the situation play out.
I don't think that it really was the best idea for either of you to "decide to let the situation play out",as you acknowledged above. You or your partner shoulda fixed this then,instead of waiting for the doo-doo to hit the fan.Once you let it go,it's so obvious that you have to call it though.It's a T on the player under Rule 10-2. Casebook plays !0.2.1SitB(b) and 10.2.2 both cover it,too. The "spirit and intent" of the rule also says that it should be called.The rule was never intended to allow subs to run on and off the court when they want to.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 5th, 2003 at 03:37 AM]
I get to agree with JR here. I'm waiting for the team to get 5 on the floor. I'll even joke to the coach that there's a new rule this year, you get to play with 5 now!
__________________
To tolerate mediocrity is to foster it.
Reply With Quote