View Single Post
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 08, 2011, 04:43pm
Illini_Ref Illini_Ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
The game had the situation described in the original post.

I'm not sure how it was handled, but it prompted a question about it to a local veteran official and rules "guru". He thought and thought and finally called our state association. His quandary was what does app. the same time mean.

His answer from them was that there was nothing in the rules or interps to answer that question. The lady there said that she was fine with saying it was "app. the same time" in this situation until the first technical was reported.

That makes this a simultaneous technical. No FTs and the ball at POI which is the FTs for the first personal foul.

I don't necessarily agree and there was no "official" interp given. It was strictly a meeting of the minds on the phone.

I think that you could go with a false double T and back it by rule. I also think that with her explanation you could go with a simultaneous situation.

It's all how you articulate it to the coach really.

Last edited by Illini_Ref; Tue Feb 08, 2011 at 04:47pm.
Reply With Quote