It is not a backcourt violation
NCAA
7-6
Art. 9. After the throw-in ends, an inbounds player in the front court who is not in control of the ball may cause the ball to go into the back court.
Here's a case book play:
A.R. 217. The ball is at the disposal of Team A for a throw-in. A1 attempts to throw the inbounds pass to A2, who is located in his/her front court near the division line. (1) A1’s pass is deflected by B1. A2 leaves the playing court in his/her front court and while airborne, controls the ball, and then lands with one or both feet on the back court. (2) A1’s throw-in pass is deflected by B1. The ball bounces into Team A’s front court. While the ball is bouncing in Team A’s front court, it is deflected into Team A’s back court where A3 retrieves it. (3) A1’s throw-in pass is deflected by A2 who fumbles it into the back court. A2 then goes into the back court and recovers the fumble.
RULING: (1) Violation. When B1 deflected A1’s inbounds pass, his/ her legal touching caused the throw-in to end. A1, having established front court status when he/she left Team A’s front court, gained player and team control in the air. When A1 lands with one or both feet in his/ her backcourt, he/she has committed a backcourt violation. The exception to the backcourt rules are only applicable for the player who made the initial touch on the ball. (Rule 4-68.4 and 4-3)
(2) Legal. This is not a back-court violation since neither player nor team control had not been established in the front court.
(3) Legal. This is not a back-court violation since neither player nor team control had not been established in the front court. (Rule 9-12.1)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.
Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.
Last edited by APG; Mon Jan 31, 2011 at 01:26am.
|