Thread: Pass to himself
View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 23, 2011, 11:51pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
What if a player where stuck in a trap situation or just a situation where he or she lost her dribble and he or she throw it over the heads of the defender and then goes and retrieves it on the other side?
what would be the difference?
I don't see how this play is even related to throwing the ball off the backboard. The difference in this play is that it's a travel. Case book play 4.44.3 Situation D covers this.

Look at case book play 9.5

9.5 SITUATION A: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each.

RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote