View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 23, 2011, 03:49pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Butterfly182310 View Post
NCAA Rule 2.11.5: "Start the timing device when a player inbounds legally touches or is touched by the ball on a throw-in..." Even if the throw-in touches a defensive player, the shot clock should be started simultaneously with the game clock. That same section also states that the shot clock is started upon "possession" in the case of an unsuccessful try for goal.

Many older shot clocks do not have the ability to "reset and hold" the timer after a scored goal until the ball is touched after the ensuing throw-in. In those cases, the operator needs to do a double reset. First reset, after the scored goal to keep a potential shot clock violation horn from sounding prior to the throw-in, and a second reset when the ball is legally touched inbounds after the throw-in.
I wonder if part of the difference has anything to do with the difference in team control during a throw-in.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote