Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
I see your point, but I see this whole situation as totally different. If A1 originally has the ball, and B1 makes any play contacting only the ball, and in the process spikes A1 to the floor, I don't see a foul. If A1 has the ball, and uses it to deliberately contact the opponent, I see the ball as an extension of the hands and the result of the contact should be treated as such.
|
The ball is not an extension of the hands, and quoting a rule that describes what's "incidental" (10-6-2) doesn't change that. The case play says it's a T (or nothing) when the ball is thrown at an opponent; and there's nothing in the rules, anywhere, that differentiates between a thrown ball and a held ball as far as this play is concerned.
My point is, if intentionally shoving an opponent with the ball is an intentional foul, then accidentally doing it should be a regular foul.
A1 has the ball, guarded by B1. He pivots to pass, and in the process swings the ball around and hits (with the ball only) B1 in the shoulder, knocking him to the floor (A1 is sufficiently larger than B1 that this is not an unlikely scenario). B1 was entitled to his spot, and contact was purely accidental. If B1 had been hit with A1's forearm, it would be an easy PC foul.
Are you calling this PC?