Quote:
Originally posted by Ed Hickland
"...the affect of crossing the zone in the air has no effect on the play because NFHS and NCAA rules are based upon where the ball is touched."
|
REPLY: Except that NCAA rules say that once the kick has crossed the neutral zone, any touching by Team A before any touching by Team B is illegal (first) touching--even if that touching occurs after the kick rebounds back behind the NZ. Likewise, after the kick crosses the neutral zone, possession by team A causes the ball to become dead and belong to Team B regardless of where A recovers it (behind or beyond the NZ). But now I understand what you said originally and I agree with you.