View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 20, 2011, 10:01am
Andy Andy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by greg21001 View Post
Hi all, First post. I have been reading the forum every now and then for a few months now. I am hoping you can help my DD out. Her coach gave her a quiz and some of the question are vague in my opinion. I would like to know how you would answer them.

1. Using a double first base, the batter touches only the white portion of the base and is tagged out by the defense. Is she safe or out.
ASA, NFHS rules: Assuming a play at first and not a base hit, if the runner touched the white portion of the double base before the defense touched first, she is safe, subject to appeal. The tag could be considered an appeal if the defense lets the umpire know that they are tagging the runner because she touched the white portion of the double bag.

Quote:
Originally Posted by greg21001 View Post
2.The base runner remains on her feet and deliberately crashes into the defensive player with the ball, or about to catch the ball. Is the runner safe or out?
ASA, NFHS rules: This is malicious contact and the runner will be ejected. I will let others comment on the safe or out portion

Quote:
Originally Posted by greg21001 View Post
3. The pitcher has the ball in the circle. The batter runs to 1B and continues to 2B without. The runner at 3B is off base watching. Since the batter never stopped, is the runner at 3B out?
ASA, NFHS rules: Assuming that the batter has earned a walk, the now batter-runner is fine in continuing to second base. However, once the BR reached first base, and the pitcher has the ball in the circle and is not making a play on either runner, the runner that is off of third must committ to going one way or another. If that runner continued to stand still, she would be declared out and the BR returned to first base.

Quote:
Originally Posted by greg21001 View Post
And This question I just don't know the answe too at all.

Which of the following is true about an appeal play:
A-can be made with a live or dead ball.
B-must be made before the next pitch.
C-Umpire cannot rule until requested.
D- All the above.

thanks
ASA, NFHS rules: B and C are true
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote