View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 31, 2003, 10:37am
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally posted by Ed Hickland
Quote:
Originally posted by mikesears
For all plays 4/10 from K-10

K1 kicks the ball and it goes straight up in the air about 30 feet but never crosses the neutral zone. When it comes down, it strikes (a) A1, or (b) B1 on the shoulder at the K-9.
A2 then jumps on the ball. Whose ball, down, and distance?


Just wanted to add whether the ball crosses the neutral zone or not does not change this play.

That is, K1 kicks the ball and it crosses the neutral zone but is blown back by a gust of wind. Crossing the neutral zone has not material affect on this play as NFHS rules regarding touching discount whether the ball crossed the zone or not.
REPLY: Not quite sure I understand what you're saying, Ed. If the kick in the play above touches K or R beyond the neutral zone, it certainly will have an effect on the ruling. If it touches R, the next down will be first for whoever is in possession; if it touches K beyond the neutral zone, it will be first touching and possibly KCI. However, if your post is talking about a kick which goes beyond the NZ but returns behind and then touches K or R, I agree with you.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote