Whatever ASA says is the correct ruling, their book is ambiguous and permits plausible argument both ways.
Roger says that if interference does indeed cancel the CO, then ASA is in conflict with Fed softball, OBR, Pony, etc. So ASA's reasoning is not necessarily natural and obvious, since those other entities have apparently gone the other way on this play.
As far as the runner plowing over F4 goes, we always have the option of ejection. We can all cite plays in which a runner is ejected but not called out, and perhaps this is one of them.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
|