Here is where we get to the rub.
FED 8-4-3b deals with obstruction of a runner by a fielder not in possession of the ball, ect. The section closes with the wording "...Should an act of interference occur following any obstruction, enforcement of the interference penalty would have precedence;..."
Now the question becomes : Does "any obstruction" include catcher's obstruction (found in 8-1-2d) or does it just refer to any obstruction as defined in 8-4-3b. IMO it just deals with 8-4-3b obstructions. If it also applied to 8-1-2d, then that wording would have been added to the "Effect" clauses under 8-1-2d.
Therefore, since the obstruction by a fielder is excepted from the general rule of enforcement priorites, we enforce the interference even though it happened after the 8-4-3b obstruction. The 8-1-2d obstruction is not excepted, so we must follow the general rule of priorities.
See 2003 play 8.4.3 Situation B (an example of general rule of priorities).
As for the catcher's balk, if you are asking what it is, it is a violation of OBR 7.07 as opposed to catcher's interference found in 6.08c. At times the same actions could violate either rule, and there is a conflict on which penalty should be enforced if that happens with R2 and R3 only.
Roger Greene
[Edited by Roger Greene on Jan 30th, 2003 at 03:04 PM]
|