Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
How do you know the official granted the time-out then? He may have granted the timeout request while the free throw shooter still held the ball. He administered the subsequent play that way according to your description. By rule the time-out is granted not when the whistle goes but when the official recognizes and grants the time-out request. There's always some kind of time lag...usually small...between granting the timeout and blowing the whistle to signify that granting.
|
+1, and his internal debate (who called that) may have been interrupted and sped up by the players leaving the lane.
As quickly as this all likely happened, I'm happy with the resolution.