Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
It is ultimately the responsibility of the player to know what makes the ball dead.
Team A is holding the ball, sitting on a small lead late in the game. Coach B yells "Time out!" A1 tosses you the ball. You gonna somehow give it back to him here?
|
If you rule the Coach's action to be unsporting, then yes, at the division line after 2 free throws.
Or not.
But it's not the same as causing a free thrower to violate. There are different rules for free throws then there are for other live play.