View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 14, 2011, 10:22pm
Loudwhistle Loudwhistle is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 375
[QUOTE=The_Rookie;716003]Hello,

Tonight in only my 3rd game ever, white team coach sez I want a 30 second timeout....when my team gets the ball back. Blue has possession of the ball and is running up the court towards basket.

I BLOW my whistle and grant the time out to White..which I kicked that since they did not have possesion of ball.

MY RULING: Even though should not have granted timeout, once time out is granted there is NO rescinding it. Since Blue had the Ball at time I blew Whistle, I resumed play at point of interruption with BLUE inbounding the ball to resume Play.

Good Fix!

5.8.3. Situation E: A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official. RULIING: Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and granted; once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams. Play will resume with a Team A throw-in nearest to where play was stopped.

Last edited by Loudwhistle; Sat Jan 15, 2011 at 12:04am.
Reply With Quote