Quote:
Originally posted by Martin T.
Quote:
Originally posted by ronald
...R1 on 2nd and R2 on 1st. B1 swings at pitch and hits the catcher's mitt. F6 is fielding the ball and R1 runs into her.
...
...No runners on, line drive or fly ball hit to right. First base umpire goes out. Who has the call at first? I'm sure they are doing this to help those who are learning 3-man and in girls fast pitch this situation often occurs.
...
|
So the correct ruling is to penalise the team not at fault? After all, who caused the miss-hit?
I see it this way; if the catcher's obstruction had not occured then the ball may not have been hit to ss & the interference would not have happened. I'm for calling the ball dead, award BR 1st and advance runners on the force.
The second question:- with no runners on, the plate umpire has the call at 1st.
Martin
|
And if they scheduled the game on Wednesday, it may have been rained out and none of this happened!
Sorry, Martin, cannot buy into that theory. The point is that the batter meant to contact the ball and put it into fair play. You are not penalizing a team "not at fault" as ALL runners not in contact with a base are required to avoid interfering with fielders attempting a play on a live batted ball.
What do you expect of the fielder? It is not the fielder's responsibility to think, "my goodness, I believe the bat may have contacted the catcher's mitt, so there is no need to go after that ball."
The ball is live, runs may score and it is possible that outs can be accomplished on the play, that is why it is a
delayed dead ball.
Interference is a live ball rules violation. Catcher's obstruction does not pardon players from their responsibility to abide by the rules.
BTW, in a 3-umpire system, the BR/Runner is U3's responsibility all the way to 3B. U1 trails BR and "assists" in watching the BR touch 1B then return, in foul territory, to the left side of the plate area.
So, actually, U2 is the only umpire who did not have the responsibility to watch the BR touch 1B.