Quote:
Originally posted by ronald
...R1 on 2nd and R2 on 1st. B1 swings at pitch and hits the catcher's mitt. F6 is fielding the ball and R1 runs into her.
...
...No runners on, line drive or fly ball hit to right. First base umpire goes out. Who has the call at first? I'm sure they are doing this to help those who are learning 3-man and in girls fast pitch this situation often occurs.
...
|
So the correct ruling is to penalise the team not at fault? After all, who caused the miss-hit?
I see it this way; if the catcher's obstruction had not occured then the ball may not have been hit to ss & the interference would not have happened. I'm for calling the ball dead, award BR 1st and advance runners on the force.
The second question:- with no runners on, the plate umpire has the call at 1st.
Martin