Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
100% official's judgment. The covering official judged that the back broke free of the tackler in the EZ.
No rule was misapplied in the play. If you want to argue judgment, I'm sure you can find a fan site to entertain you.
|
What are the usual guidelines used for this judgment?
On the replay (which wasn't shown in what you posted above), it looks like he was driven back 7 yards and tackled. In live action (above) the RB's lean forward as the first tackler falls off his upper body to his legs make it appear that he is moving forward even though his position on the field is still moving back.
What is it that he would have seen that would have lead him to the judgment?
Overall, I thought the crew did a pretty good job. The only other call I didn't care for was the no call on the pass interference where the Arkansas player's legs tangled with the receiver's legs. It looked intentional to me rather than just legs getting tangled.