View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2011, 12:06pm
rockyroad rockyroad is offline
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
I guess they can do it that way, but the good coaches know:

10-5 ART. 1

The head coach shall remain seated on the team bench, except:

c. The head coach may stand and/or leave the coaching box to confer with personnel at the scorer's table to request a time-out as in 5-8-4.


5-8 ART. 4

Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official:

Responds to the scorer's signal to grant a coach's request that a correctable error, as in 2-10, or a timing, scoring or alternating-possession mistake be prevented or rectified. The appeal to the official shall be presented at the scorer's table where a coach of each team may be present.

But whatever, IJS
You can roll your eyes all you want to, but the fact remains that the procedures you pasted from the rule book are designed for a time when the ball is live and in play. That is when the coach may rise and go to the table and at the next dead ball the timer will sound the horn.

In the OP, the ball was not live, the Coach spoke to the official, and the official did not take care of business. He should have held up the free throws, brought both coaches together and handled the CE situation. Trying to pass this off as the Coach not handling it right is quite pathetic.
Reply With Quote