View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 03:20pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
Short version - ...unless the try/pass came from the backside of the backboard, then violation for hitting the OOB side of the backboard which is the side from whence it came.
Longer version - ...Applying the same logic used on IB passes that strikes the bottom of the backboard on an IB pass from the endline, if the try/pass came from the endline side of the backboard and comes back from to the side whence it came the ball struck the endline side of the backboard and is a violation. Seldom seen but still an exception to your answer. It would apply in the OP.

An exception to my exception - If backspin provide the impetus for the ball to come back from whence is came, it might not have actually hit the backside of the backboard. This sitch is seldom seen except in gloabe trotter and exebitions of that sort. However I have never seen my exception the the exception.

Edited to add exception to the exception.
Good rule of thumb, but only a rule of thumb.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote