View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 11:06am
Fritz Fritz is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 151
Over The Backboard

Had this in a youth league game yesterday and got me thinking, NFHS rules apply:

A1 drives toward the side of his basket a bit out of control and ends up going too far and past the backboard. As he is starting to fall out of bounds, he throws a pass/try over the rectangular backboard from behind (he was clearly behind the backboard at the time). It actually hits the top of the backboard, bounces up & over, then drops down on the basket rim. It does not go in though (sorry SportCenter), is rebounded by the defense and we head the other way.

I didn't blow my whistle, being surprised like everyone else at what we almost saw, but started thinking later about the correct call. I was pretty sure that any pass or try from behind the backboard that goes over the top of a rectangular backboard is whistled dead as a violation. But seemed to me that there was an exception for if it first bounced on the top of the backboard.

Checked the NFHS rules site and it does confirm that any pass or try, from either the front or behind the backboard, that goes over the top of an R backboard is a violation. But it then states that if it hits the top, it remains live though the wording implies that this is the case if the attempt came from in front (which we see happen often). Maybe I am not reading it right though.

Trying to figure how the reverse, something originating from behind the backboard, would stay live and legal just because it touched the top as it went to the front of the backboard.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote