from my previous "free throw" thread a couple of days ago , I thought the concensus from you old timers was ; its not a violation but a "T" .
If preventive officiating didnt catch it before the first of 2 throws , then direct team b to occupy their spots and if they dont ,then a "T" ? Or a "T" for delay of game . Isn't it kind of like having 6 players on the floor for team b during a live ball, do you administer a "T" because you didnt count them before handing the ball to the kid? 10.1.5, c does fit for the sit. before the first throw and it's a warning and then a "T" .
I Know what you said before Welpe (re my "free throw OP ), but to me it's a refusal to abide by the rule more than a delay. Plus i can't envision a coach refusing to put 2 players in the first 2 lane spots after warning him and giving the players time to run over. In my OP the coach already refused by calling his 5 players over for a huddle when the lead was ready to , (and did !) administer the first f t .
Sorry , but I'm not convinced by rule that this is not a violation. 8-1 says either team may be charged with a violation . 9-1 penalties are all violations and not "T"'s , (including lane space requirements from 8-1-4)
And what of the further complications of D.O.G. procedures If it's following a time out or intermission as in 8-2 ? no warning there, or waiting for the coach to comply ! And you guys who don't want to abide with a "normal " 10 count ; what are you going to do here , a smoke break? As always ,I'll go with the concensus but it would be nice if it made sense and was easy for an old man to remember!