Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by BillyMac  Wasn't there a recent interpretation on this that may have been a change from what we did in the past? | 
	
 2007-08 NFHS Case Book
9.1.1 SITUATION: A1, at the free throw line to attempt a free throw (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) accidentally drops the ball before the throwing motion is started. 
 
RULING: In (a) and (b) the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again. No free-throw violation should be called in this situation.