Personally I would not make a big deal if the coach held a 30-second time out near the top of the key UNLESS he seems to be intentionally stalling the resumption of play (like with a water spill). If you believe that he is manipulating you or the game there are remedies available, even if no specific rule exists.
I would warn the coach once against extending the TO artificially. If that doesn't help, it seems to me that you have 2 options. Number 1: Use rule 2 section # (NFHS rules) which says that the referee may make any rulings involving situations not specifically covered in the rule book. In this situation the warning could be a T for the second offense. Number 2: A T can be issued for any unsportsmanlike conduct. The person who defines what is unsportsmanlike is the official...if it smells like that to you, call the T.
Also, it seems that you would not be asking these questions if you knew that this particular coach was not a "howler monkey." You must not pre-predjudice yourself against any team, player, or coach.
|