View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 27, 2003, 03:27am
bluezebra bluezebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Your scenario is rather confusing. F2 tipped the bat. F6 was attempting to field the batted ball. The runner from 2B runs into F6. Correct?

In my opinion, everything goes back to F2 tipping the bat. The offense gets their choice, and would obviously go with F2's interference/obstruction (depending on rule book used).

Since F2 committed the initial illegal action, there is nothing in the field to punish. The "interference takes precedence over obstruction" has no bearing on this situation.

Bob
Reply With Quote