Thread: Violation?
View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 20, 2010, 09:39am
hoopguy hoopguy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Shore Mass
Posts: 121
9-3-3 - player runs out of bounds for unauthorized reason. Violation.

10.3.2a - The player who has just thrown the ball in on a thowin, stays out of bounds and recieves pass. This is a technical foul.

These two rules/cases happen basically the same way except for the fact that the player recieving the pass is in one case the inbounding player on a thowin. Usually the offensive team is setting up a endline pick play and the offending player is using the pick by running out of bounds. If the player is the inbounder then it is a techincal foul and if it is not on an inbounds play then it is a violation.

Last year in one game, I called it 2 times and my partner once against the same team. The play was set up wrong and it was pretty obvious. The lead would almost get run over by the cutter. Very easy call if you are aware that it is a violation.

The last game I worked I had a situation where there was a battle for the ball and I was trail-becoming lead and I was moving onto the court to view the battle for the ball but then back toward the sidline once the play started to move to the other end and a player was passing me and went outside me and probably out of bounds but I was not going to make that call since he was just trying not to run into me. I will call this an 'authorized reason' for breifly going out of bounds.
Reply With Quote