Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp
Had this happen in a game of mine a couple of weeks back. 9th grade Boys, A2 ran OOB on the endline for about 5-6 steps before coming back inbounds to receive a pass.
Partner whistled for the violation (I was the Trail, so I didn't see it happen). Coach went nuts (of course, he was "making comments himself" all night). As my partner was about to administer the throw-in, A2 decided to add in his own comment "You gotta learn the rules, ref". WHACK.
|
The action you describe on the part of A2 is still a T if you don't catch it until he comes back inbounds to receive the pass (4-19-14 & 10-3-6). The idea is to call the violation as soon as player leaves the court so you don't have to call a T when they return. It's also a T for a player to purposely and/or deceitfully delay returning to the court after being legally out of bounds. (10-3-2).