View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 09, 2010, 10:40am
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
So if a jumper comes down with his foot over the line before the ball touches a non-jumper, you call a violation?
I think the answer to this is to go with the intent of the rule. The intent is obviously not to punish a jumper for where he lands when he makes a legitimate attempt to tap the toss.

OTOH, based on the wording of the note on 6-3-8, it seems their intent is also not to allow one jumper to simply walk to the other side during the toss.

In a way, it seems similar to the intent of the relatively new wording on 9-1-3g (one foot near the FT lane line).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote