View Single Post
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 05, 2010, 09:52am
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
I did read the entire thread, I did not see any mention of 10-5-3b, especially since it falls under Player Technical & the penalty for anything under 10-3 is 2 FTs & ball at division line for throw-in.
Really? Try again, you can start with Post #9, where BillyMac says this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
This may be a stretch:

NFHS 10-3-5: A player shall not: Delay the game by acts such as:
Failing when in possession, to immediately pass the ball to the nearer
official when a whistle blows.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
And it's a stretch because imo if the rulesmakers wanted to to identify this as a specific delay of game problem, they would have done so by either including it as one of the DOG warnings or adressed it directly as they did on a play like a defender touching the ball OOB on a throw-in while the thrower is holding it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
More to the point, however. . . How is this "practice" lay-up delaying the game?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If the player travels the length of the court, by-passing one or more officials along the way, and shoots a layup before heading to his bench, it could easily be considered delaying the game.

Had a partner call a T last year when, following the granting of a timeout, A1 (standing near that partner) launched a twenty foot shot then ended up heading to the bleachers. Partner gave him two chances to retrieve the ball and he refused.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
How?? The game is stopped for the next 30 or 60 seconds. Nothing is going to happen anyway. So how he delaying anything?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote