View Single Post
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 04, 2010, 11:32pm
Scrapper1 Scrapper1 is offline
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I did a lot of poking and prodding and got a friend of a friend to get in touch with somebody on the Rules Committee, regarding the correctable error interp. Here is the response that was given:

Quote:
The Rules Committee does not believe an official not knowing or not properly applying a rule is the intent of the Rule 2.10. Generally speaking, the five correctable errors in Rule 2.10 involve correct rulings by officials in ruling the foul or an infraction such as basket interference. However an error occurs in the administration of the free throw(s) that result from the foul or the infraction (basket interference) is not scored correctly. Based on historical NFHS interpretations, a correctable error is NOT applicable when officials don't know the rule of fail to apply a rule properly.
Reply With Quote