View Single Post
  #43 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 04:01pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
If he went to the player, meaning minimal (read here incidental) contact then I believe a block can be a reasonable call if the offensive player falls to the ground because of the defender lying on the ground. In other words, if the offensive player fell to the floor because of the "flop", it can be a block.
Faulty logic from a rules stand-point, as Snaqs pointed out. How can you possibly call a block on a player who has a legal guarding position? A defender can always legally move to maintain their LGP and that includes moving backwards.

Better re-think that one because you have absolutely no rules justification to ever call a block. A no-call or a "T" for faking a foul, yes. That's a judgment call. But never a block.
Reply With Quote