View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 12:27am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
Sorry sir but I don't see how either of those fit into this situation. You just proved that a drop is not a dribble in the first one. He tossed dropped the ball and play continued. That is my point. If the drop would have been a dribble he couldn't have dribbled again.
No, that would be part c of this play ruling.


7.1.1 SITUATION D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a
boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court.
A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning
inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up
the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in
(a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes
the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is
an illegal dribble violation
. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)
Reply With Quote