View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 10:06pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
You say by NFHS rule....what is the rule you are refering to?
Here are a couple for you:

1997-98 NFHS Basketball Interpretations

SITUATION #7: A1 receives the ball with both feet off the floor and he or she lands simultaneously on both feet without establishing a pivot foot. A1 then jumps off both feet in an attempt to try for goal, but realizing the shot may be blocked, A1 drops the ball to the floor and dribbles.
RULING: A1 has traveled as one foot must be considered to be a pivot and must be on the floor when the ball is released to start a dribble. The fact that no pivot foot had been established does not alter this ruling. (4-42-3c)

The above play ruling became 4.44.3 Situation B which appears on page 37 of the current 2010-11 NFHS Case Book.

4.44.3 SITUATION B: A1 receives the ball with both feet off the floor and he/she
lands simultaneously on both feet without establishing a pivot foot. A1 then
jumps off both feet in an attempt to try for goal, but realizing the shot may be
blocked, A1 drops the ball to the floor and dribbles. RULING: A1 has traveled as
one foot must be considered to be the pivot and must be on the floor when the
ball is released to start a dribble. The fact that no pivot foot had been established
does not alter this ruling.


2000-01 NFHS Basketball Interpretations

SITUATION 10: A1 jumps from inbounds and gains control of the ball in the air. While in the air, the player tosses/drops the ball inbounds and momentum then carries them out of bounds. A1 then returns to the court and is the first to touch the ball inbounds. RULING: The ball never touched out of bounds and the player returned in-bounds and re-established him/herself before touching the ball. Therefore, the play is legal and play continues. (7-1-i; 7-1-2)

This ruling currently appears as 7.1.1 Situation D in the NFHS Case Book, but the word "drops" has been eliminated.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Wed Dec 01, 2010 at 10:08pm.
Reply With Quote