Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  BadNewsRef
					 
				 
				What are your thoughts? 
			
		 | 
	
	
 A bit conflicted.
As Rufus correctly pointed out...
	Quote:
	
	
		| 
			
				 
					Originally Posted by Rufus
					
				 
				Since the alternating-posession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended... 
			
		 | 
	
	
 However, 4-42-5a says...
	Quote:
	
	
		| 
			
				The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player in bounds.
			
		 | 
	
	
 Notice that this rule doesn't say "
legally touches or is legally touched."  It just says "touches."  In the play, the ball was indeed touched, and you could argue that made the throw-in over, though he illegal touching made for a kicking violation.  
I just wonder why they'd leave out "legally" before touches, when the case book says something different.