Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDorian37
So it seems that unless I rule the contact to be more than just a play on the ball, it's just a travel and no foul.
It makes sense to say that if the contact would have been just a regular personal foul had the ball still been live, and the defender was committed to the contact when the ball became dead, that it can't be an intentional foul.
|
If I understand what you are saying correctly, I agree. If it wouldn't be an INT during a live ball, it wouldn't be an INT during a dead ball. The criteria does not change based on the status of the ball.
So, yes...travel, dead ball, contact is ignored (other than the usual game management you would employ after a player gets run over).