Quote:
Originally Posted by stiffler3492
. . . Contact away from the ball or when not making a legitimate attempt to play the ball or a player, specifically designed to stop or keep the clock from starting, shall be intentional. . . .
The way I saw it, he wasn't making a legitimate attempt to draw a charge. The part in red is what I think might apply.
|
In this case you can't pick out just one phrase from the rule and expect to interpret it properly. The rest of the sentence is key: "specifically designed to stop or keep the clock from starting."
IMO . . .
If the purpose was to stop the clock by fouling, then you can have an intentional foul.
If the purpose was to hurt the shooter, you have an unsporting T.