Quote:
Originally Posted by cjclark6cc
Play happened in my son's 5th grade tournament game today (don't all the crazy ones happen there).
Team A inbounds the ball under team B's basket. Team A shoots into team B's basket and scores. Team B then inbounds the ball and takes it into their back court (going the wrong way). Coaches are yelling about going the wrong way so the referees blow the whistle and stop play with Team B in their backcourt.
Basket counted for Team B and team B was given the ball in their backcourt b/c that's where they were at the point of interruption. Note that the officials had not "called" backcourt
I thought that Team A should have gotten the ball b/c the point of interruption was a violation.
Thoughts?
|
if both teams were confused, and they as well as the officials were, then they did it right. You can't go back and retroactively call a violation you missed.
There were multiple points to stop play here.
After A scored into Bs basket, the officials should have made sure that A got the ball. Blow the whistle as soon as B grabs the ball and set it straight.
After that, it's a cluster fark regardless of how you resolve it.