View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 27, 2010, 01:14pm
deecee deecee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjclark6cc View Post
Play happened in my son's 5th grade tournament game today (don't all the crazy ones happen there).

Team A inbounds the ball under team B's basket. Team A shoots into team B's basket and scores. Team B then inbounds the ball and takes it into their back court (going the wrong way). Coaches are yelling about going the wrong way so the referees blow the whistle and stop play with Team B in their backcourt.

Basket counted for Team B and team B was given the ball in their backcourt b/c that's where they were at the point of interruption. Note that the officials had not "called" backcourt

I thought that Team A should have gotten the ball b/c the point of interruption was a violation.

Thoughts?
Unfortunately this is not correctable. the only thing the officials can do is stop play and point the players at the right basket. POI is where the ball was when the play was stopped NOT where the officials "thought" it should go.

If anything Team A SHOULD have had the ball after they made it in the wrong basket. But once again this is all not correctable.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote