Thread: Goaltending???
View Single Post
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 08:17pm
Eastshire Eastshire is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Here:

Rule 10-3-6 doesn't even address the backboard, this is included in the "not limited to" portion of 10-3-6.

In practice, I can't imagine any time a player would slap the backboard without a try involved that wouldn't be ruled a technical foul. It's either an attempt to draw attention, or vent frustration. That doesn't mean it couldn't happen (never say never or always), I just can't imagine it.
I'm primarily thinking of a situation where the ball has already passed below the level of the rim so the try has ended.
Reply With Quote